Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules

Table of Contents

513. End Step

  • 513.1. The end step has no turn-based actions. Once it begins, the active player gets priority. (See rule 117, Timing and Priority.)
  • 513.1a Previously, abilities that triggered at the beginning of the end step were printed with the trigger condition at end of turn. Cards that were printed with that text have received errata in the Oracle card reference to say at the beginning of the end step or at the beginning of the next end step.
  • 513.2. If a permanent with an ability that triggers at the beginning of the end step enters the battlefield during this step, that ability wont trigger until the next turns end step. Likewise, if a delayed triggered ability that triggers at the beginning of the next end step is created during this step, that ability wont trigger until the next turns end step. In other words, the step doesnt back up so those abilities can go on the stack. This rule applies only to triggered abilities; it doesnt apply to continuous effects whose durations say until end of turn or this turn. (See rule 514, Cleanup Step.)