Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules

Table of Contents

303. Enchantments

  • 303.1. A player who has priority may cast an enchantment card from their hand during a main phase of their turn when the stack is empty. Casting an enchantment as a spell uses the stack. (See rule 601, Casting Spells.)
  • 303.2. When an enchantment spell resolves, its controller puts it onto the battlefield under their control.
  • 303.3. Enchantment subtypes are always a single word and are listed after a long dash: Enchantment Shrine. Each word after the dash is a separate subtype. Enchantment subtypes are also called enchantment types. Enchantments may have multiple subtypes. See rule 205.3h for the complete list of enchantment types.
  • 303.4. Some enchantments have the subtype Aura. An Aura enters the battlefield attached to an object or player. What an Aura can be attached to is defined by its enchant keyword ability (see rule 702.5, Enchant). Other effects can limit what a permanent can be enchanted by.
  • 303.4a An Aura spell requires a target, which is defined by its enchant ability.
  • 303.4b The object or player an Aura is attached to is called enchanted. The Aura is attached to, or enchants, that object or player.
  • 303.4c If an Aura is enchanting an illegal object or player as defined by its enchant ability and other applicable effects, the object it was attached to no longer exists, or the player it was attached to has left the game, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. (This is a state-based action. See rule 704.)
  • 303.4d An Aura cant enchant itself. If this occurs somehow, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard. An Aura thats also a creature cant enchant anything. If this occurs somehow, the Aura becomes unattached, then is put into its owners graveyard. (These are state-based actions. See rule 704.) An Aura cant enchant more than one object or player. If a spell or ability would cause an Aura to become attached to more than one object or player, the Auras controller chooses which object or player it becomes attached to.
  • 303.4e An Auras controller is separate from the enchanted objects controller or the enchanted player; the two need not be the same. If an Aura enchants an object, changing control of the object doesnt change control of the Aura, and vice versa. Only the Auras controller can activate its abilities. However, if the Aura grants an ability to the enchanted object (with gains or has), the enchanted objects controller is the only one who can activate that ability.
  • 303.4f If an Aura is entering the battlefield under a players control by any means other than by resolving as an Aura spell, and the effect putting it onto the battlefield doesnt specify the object or player the Aura will enchant, that player chooses what it will enchant as the Aura enters the battlefield. The player must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
  • 303.4g If an Aura is entering the battlefield and there is no legal object or player for it to enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard instead of entering the battlefield.
  • 303.4h If an effect attempts to put a permanent that isnt an Aura, Equipment, or Fortification onto the battlefield attached to an object or player, it enters the battlefield unattached.
  • 303.4i If an effect attempts to put an Aura onto the battlefield attached to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura remains in its current zone, unless that zone is the stack. In that case, the Aura is put into its owners graveyard instead of entering the battlefield. If the Aura is a token, it isnt created.
  • 303.4j If an effect attempts to attach an Aura on the battlefield to an object or player it cant legally enchant, the Aura doesnt move.
  • 303.4k If an effect allows an Aura thats being turned face up to become attached to an object or player, the Auras controller considers the characteristics of that Aura as it would exist if it were face up to determine what it may be attached to, and they must choose a legal object or player according to the Auras enchant ability and any other applicable effects.
  • 303.4m An ability of a permanent that refers to the enchanted [object or player] refers to whatever object or player that permanent is attached to, even if the permanent with the ability isnt an Aura.
  • 303.5. Some enchantments have the subtype Saga. See rule 714 for more information about Saga cards.