Magic: The Gathering Comprehensive Rules

Table of Contents

109. Objects

  • 109.1. An object is an ability on the stack, a card, a copy of a card, a token, a spell, a permanent, or an emblem.
  • 109.2. If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes a card type or subtype, but doesnt include the word card, spell, source, or scheme, it means a permanent of that card type or subtype on the battlefield.
  • 109.2a If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word card and the name of a zone, it means a card matching that description in the stated zone.
  • 109.2b If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word spell, it means a spell matching that description on the stack.
  • 109.2c If a spell or ability uses a description of an object that includes the word source, it means a source matching that descriptiona source of an ability, of damage, or of manain any zone. See rules 113.7 and 609.7.
  • 109.2d If an ability of a scheme card includes the text this scheme, it means the scheme card in the command zone on which that ability is printed.
  • 109.3. An objects characteristics are name, mana cost, color, color indicator, card type, subtype, supertype, rules text, abilities, power, toughness, loyalty, hand modifier, and life modifier. Objects can have some or all of these characteristics. Any other information about an object isnt a characteristic. For example, characteristics dont include whether a permanent is tapped, a spells target, an objects owner or controller, what an Aura enchants, and so on.
  • 109.4. Only objects on the stack or on the battlefield have a controller. Objects that are neither on the stack nor on the battlefield arent controlled by any player. See rule 108.4. There are six exceptions to this rule:
  • 109.4a The controller of a mana ability is determined as though it were on the stack. See rule 605, Mana Abilities.
  • 109.4b An emblem is controlled by the player that puts it into the command zone. See rule 114, Emblems.
  • 109.4c In a Planechase game, a face-up plane or phenomenon card is controlled by the player designated as the planar controller. This is usually the active player. See rule 901.6.
  • 109.4d In a Vanguard game, each vanguard card is controlled by its owner. See rule 902.6.
  • 109.4e In an Archenemy game, each scheme card is controlled by its owner. See rule 904.7.
  • 109.4f In a Conspiracy Draft game, each conspiracy card is controlled by its owner. See rule 905.5.
  • 109.5. The words you and your on an object refer to the objects controller, its would-be controller (if a player is attempting to play, cast, or activate it), or its owner (if it has no controller). For a static ability, this is the current controller of the object its on. For an activated ability, this is the player who activated the ability. For a triggered ability, this is the controller of the object when the ability triggered, unless its a delayed triggered ability. To determine the controller of a delayed triggered ability, see rules 603.7df.